Skirts galore

Ok, well, not galore, but a couple of them at least 🙂

 

 

Neon Orange

Neon Orange

 

After the exhausting quilt (see here), I needed a bit of a break and a couple of gin and tonics before I set up my sewing machine again.  (I will not be beaten by a sewing machine, I will not be beaten by ……)

But…I was totally inspired by THIS really cute skirt up on the Purlbee and decided I’d give it a go for my daughter.  The materials all just fell into place – I found the wonderfully bright neon orange elastic at John Lewis, and simply by chance Jo spotted the fabric in our local haberdashery shop (thanks Jo) – so I scooted down there and found a perfectly sized remnant – I can’t believe how nicely the two go together, don’t you think?  It was all going so well! (Note: The fabric is actually a Liberty print called Jodie C in a silk satin)

Finished Skirt

 

In theory, it’s a totally simple skirt to make.  But, ‘sewing machine’ had different ideas.  After jamming, breaking, straining, whirring excitedly and generally misbehaving I realised that ‘sewing machine’ needed some love (or a one way trip to the recycling).  So, skirt number 1 ended up taking a good three days of sewing, jamming, unpicking, sewing, sticking, unpicking before it finally came to fruition.  Jo was lucky enough to witness my total frustration, and was uncharacteristically quiet during the whole process (fearing, I think, for her own safety).

However, I sat down with my machine and had a good overhaul and it seems to be a much happier beast now….leading to skirt no. 2, which was made in about an hour and a half without a mention of ‘unpicking’ anywhere.

_MG_8117

This one was made from a remnant I found in our Crafts and Coffee fabric box, and a piece of plain blue, quite wide elastic.  Although I love the colour of the neon orange elastic, it’s reasonably firm and so not quite as comfortable to wear (I am reliably informed by my daughter!).  The wider elastic seems to sit better to my mind too. I also decided to add a small detail to the hem of no. 2, just to make it pop a bit more.

Being used!

Being used!

The really lovely thing about both of these skirts is that they’ve already been worn and covered in mud and shimmied up trees – what better repayment for the effort (and mild frustration 🙂 ) than to see them actually being used!!

The sewing machine is now back in my good books, and has been spied by my mum who has now requested a couple of cushion covers (brave woman!!).  I’ll let you know how they go.

Happy day.

Karey

 

 

Leave a Reply

