Happy New Year – Let the Making Commence!

Hello there – and a most Happy 2014 to you all!

IMG_2196

Wow….I’ve just had a really fun, full on, happy family, happy friends kind of Christmas.  Two weeks packed full of lovely stuff, and I’m now looking forward to seeing what the next 12 months have in store.

This is probably the first year that ‘most’ of my family got handmade presents (handmade by me that is!).  And, to be honest, there’s nothing like a Christmas deadline (and Jo threatening to finish things for me…) to focus the mind a little.

First on the list was this quilt for my daughter.

IMG_2198And let me just say….quilting folk, I bow down to you, and your dedication to straight lines.  This has been rather a labor of love for me – one I will only be likely to repeat for my son – after a long break – and perhaps hypnosis…..But – I have to say, I really do love the finished article.  Very pleased with the bright colours for the backing and edging, which I think turns this from plain pastel to pastel funky?

My other two projects took me back to my happy place of crochet – yay.  The first being my personal favourite. What do you think?

Cosy Tea

A friend of mine bought one of these metal teapots and I loved it – so off I trotted to bag one for my brother (who has a bad habit of breaking tea pots….yes, really).  Then I managed to find this wonderful colour change yarn that just matches perfectly, and set to work making it a wooly hat.  Basic flat circle pattern using double crochet (UK terms) for the top bit and then moved onto half trebles for the rest. The bobble was just a moment of inspiration 🙂

And last over the finishing line was a second cushion for my Nan – which is of course now sitting happily in her house where I can’t take a picture of it (I know, I know, Jo and I are learning about the photo thing slowly…..see here) to go with this earlier one which followed a Bavarian Crochet pattern (there’s a great tutorial for this stitch here):

Bavarian Crochet Cushion

Bavarian Crochet Cushion

I was basically far too lazy to make a second identical one, but wanted to use the same colour palette – so I just made small squares using one of my favourite yarns (Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK) and then crocheted them together. Once it was all neat and tidy, I just sewed the panel onto the front of a 30x30cm cushion that I’d bought from eBay and voila!

IMG_2091

So….what next I hear you ask? Well, I think it’s time for something for me, and I’ve been hankering after this poncho that I saw on Ravelry…take a look here. It’s just possible that I’ve got some lovely, navy, chunky yarn hidden away somewhere.

Until next time.

KB

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year – Let the Making Commence!

  1. Pingback: Skirts galore | Crafts & Coffee

  2. Pingback: Quick Baby Cow Quilt | Crafts & Coffee

Leave a Reply

